Cruel Beauty by Rosamond Hodges

I am a huge fantasy nerd/geek and I love a good spin on a fairy tale. I devoured Hodges book Crimson Bound and I devoured Cruel Beauty. As a kid growing up I was never a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast despite sharing some similar qualities with Belle. That being said I have been getting into a lot of Beauty and the Beast spin offs and Cruel Beauty is in the top five.

images.jpeg

My favorite part about this book was how it kept me guessing until the very end as to what was really happening. This is the tale of two sisters and how one of them has been chosen since birth to bring peace to her land-the only downside is that in order to bring peace she has to marry an evil man and then kill him and herself. Easy enough right? Except she falls in love with this devilishly handsome man and finds that she cannot bring herself to kill him because what if he isn’t really all that evil? What if someone else is telling him what to do?

This story was a little bit of a combination of Beauty and the Beast and Cinderella. Nyx not only has to deal with a neglectful father but a wanna-be stepmother and protect her little sister from Nyx’s eventual fate. However when Nyx starts to question everything she has been told can she still save her people and restore her relationship with her little sister? Or will she chose to save Ignifex the man she’s come to love?

I’ll admit the story started out a little slow but it picks up and the ending hits you like a ton of bricks. I almost had a panic attack when I got to the ending but like all good fairy tales there is a happily ever after.

-A

Leave a Reply

