Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

This book certainly was not what I expected it to be and I mean that in a good way. I thought this book was going to be about the story of Hosea but in a more modern setting and while it was about that it wasn’t in the way I expected.

51N3MnnShDL.jpg

It isn’t the clear cut story of Hosea from the bible, rather it is Francine Rivers take on the story. It’s more than just the story of a prophet of God who was called to marry a prostitute. It’s the story of how God can take even the worst of us and still love us and make us into something beautiful.

The focus of this book isn’t on Michael Hosea it’s on his wife Angel, the girl who was raped at age eight, and spent the next ten years of her life as a prostitute. This story is compelling because Rivers doesn’t honey coat the bad things in fact she brings them into the light and isn’t afraid of talking about them. Angel did some things which I won’t say for spoiler reasons that I raised my eyebrows at and questioned why this would be a in a Christian book. It’s in here because we have all done things we are ashamed of and most certainly not proud of but God is willing to overlook that and love us all the same. This book is simply about Redeeming Love and the power of that love. While it is a great love story it’s more about the love story God has for his people and those that choose to believe in him. I loved this book and it opened my eyes to show me that despite all the things that I have done and am not proud of God is willing to overlook that if I can just come to him, confess and ask Him to use me how He sees fit.

I wasn’t sure how this book was going to end and many times I set the book down because I was angry and passionate about what was happening but Rivers pulled it together at the end. This is truly a story of Redeeming Love and if you are tired of the sex filled drama filled dime romances that fill the shelves at used book stores/sales then read this book. It is a genuine Romance that deals with the hard issues of marriage and doesn’t shy away from the facts. It’s perfect and it’s sweet and if you are struggling with accepting God’s love than read this book and realize he will love you no matter what.

Leave a Reply

