Entwined by Heather Dixon

I read this book in a day. I got it in the mail from Thriftbooks (check it out! Best book buying website ever!) sat down to read a few pages and before I knew it my day was gone and the book was finished.

61aln5+zjQL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

My favorite fairy tale growing up as a kid was the Twelve Dancing Princesses because the story was whimsical and fun. I couldn’t wait then to read Entwined and hear a modern take on a older fairy tale. Honestly I wish someone would make this book or just make a Twelve Dancing Princesses movie because the story could be amazing!

This book was not what I was expecting but then again I say that about a lot of books. The fairy tale I read led me to believe that the princesses were all the same age and clearly they couldn’t be. The story focuses on the eldest daughter Azalea, and her eleven sisters who are all named after flowers and are named alphabetically. They have the weirdest relationship with their father, which frustrated me all throughout the book because it was like the relationship didn’t even exist. Also they were extremely poor for being royalty but I guess parliament limited their power a long time ago so they were just naturally poor. I’ll admit there were some things I disagreed with in this book but the overall story is captivating.

The story is about the twelve princesses and starts out with their mother’s death. Azalea is holding her first yule ball as the eldest daughter and it is cut abruptly short with the death of her mother. The relationship with their father is almost nonexistent so while he has to go to the front lines of the war they are fighting the girls move on without him. They have to remain in mourning for exactly one year and that means no dancing. The twelve girls obviously live for dancing so when they discover a secret passage way that leads to a ballroom pavilion thing where they can dance to their hearts content they are overly happy. Keeper, the mysterious man who guards the pavilion is slightly creepy but handsome at the same time so the girls don’t question their decision. It’s only when their father comes back from the war and starts taking an interest in his daughters that things get complicated and Keeper turns more sinister. I don’t want to spoil the end of the book because I almost threw it across the room but as with all Fairy tales they live happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

