A Garden #DigLit

It was not easy thinking of a metaphor for myself as a teacher or what I want my classroom to look like so I started thinking. The first thing that came to mind was Six Word Memoirs. I first read the book I Can’t Keep My Own Secrets: Six-Word Memoirs by Teens Famous & Obscure (Six-Word Memoirs) when I was in high school and the idea always stuck with me. I always wanted to write my own six word memoir so when I started out this project that’s what I wanted to do. I was going to write a bunch of six word memoirs about me as a learner and how that shaped who I wanted to be as a teacher. That’s not exactly how my project went. I realized that I had to think of a metaphor and write about that which took some of the wind out of my sails. I recouped by deciding to write six word metaphors about me as a teacher and my classroom but as I started writing something else started appearing on the page. First of all it is extremely hard to write six word metaphors. Second of all I am not even sure if what I was writing would even be called metaphors. I took a step back from my work and started thinking about it differently. I looked up some articles about metaphors and then I just started writing. I ended up writing a poem, which is not something I do. I used to love to write and read poetry when I was younger but I have fallen out of that as late. I either like poetry that talks about philosophy/ideas or that talks about experiences. I also really like Shel Silverstein but I digress. I do not usually write poetry and so this is a free verse poem that has six words in each line. I wasn’t sure how I was going to present it because I am terrible with technology. At first I thought I would create a google docs slide show and just publish it to the internet or share it on my blog. I really wanted to set it to music though so I ended up creating an iMovie which was a labor of love. It took me 3 1/2 hours because I am new to iMovie and I had a plan in my head which I was not about to deviate from. After I finished the movie I watched and realized there was quite a few mistakes I hadn’t caught the first time around so I had to go back and edit my photos and change the length of some of the pictures and then I had to change the presentation of the some of the pictures. I never thought it would end but it did and I am very happy with the final result.
I really do like to think of my classroom as a garden that I cultivate and grow. I know a lot of my students will be coming to me as baby plants and I hope to pass them onto their next teachers as fully grown plants that can only keep growing.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Garden #DigLit

Leave a Reply

