Reading Response: Stacking the Shelves

STSmall_thumb2.png

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

This week was the Buy One Get One Free book fair at the school where my mom is student teaching plus today was the first day of the library used book sale.

IMG_1526.JPG

This a picture of the books I am adding to my shelves this week.

Hallow City is the second book to the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Extraordinary Children trilogy. The movie is coming out in September which I am super pumped for!

Grounded is part of a new fractured fairy tale series by Megan Morrison. This first book is about Rapunzel and Jack, from the bean stalk. All Rapunzel has known is her tower and Witch, who takes care of her. When Jack breaks into her tower Rapunzel learns that Witch is in danger and she must leave her tower to travel across the land of Tyme to save Witch.

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee is the prequel to To Kill A Mockingbird. I read this book when it first came out and got this brand new copy for $2! It is a really great read despite the rumors saying it will ruin what you think of To Kill A Mockingbird. This is the story of Scout when she is 20 years old and has come to her hometown. It will challenge your perception of Atticus and Scout but you really need to read it.

The Aviator’s Wife is by one of my favorite authors Melanie Benjamin. The first book I read by Melanie Benjamin was Alice I Have Been which is a story about Alice Liddell the girl who became Alice in Wonderland. The Aviator’s Wife is about Anne Marrow the wife of Charles Lindbergh and mother of the Lindbergh baby. Melanie Benjamin has a gift for giving a voice to women whose history has overshadowed them to the point that they can no longer be heard.

The Wish by Gail Carlson Levine is about Wilma Sturtz whose only wish is to be popular. When a witch grants her wish Wilma must decide if she wants people to love her because a spell told them to or for who she is.

One of my favorite finds beside Go Set a Watchman was a dual copy of Romeo and Juliet and the play West Side Story which is one of my favorite musicals and love story.

The old looking book whose title is obscured is The Shepherd of the Hills by Harold Bell Wright. This is a story of the Ozarks which is a region in southern Missouri where I grew up. My mom has a copy of this book and I am simply delighted to find a 1907 copy of this story. I saw the play performed when I lived in Missouri but I have never taken the time to read the book.

Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover is book three in the Gallagher Girls series. I never actually finished the series and so now I am collecting the books to reread the series and finish it. The Gallagher Girls series is about Cammie Morgan and spy school! This is an extremely fun series with intense moments of spying and typical teenage angst.

The Anybodies is an interesting book. I first came across years ago when me and my cousin were still in grade school. She had bought it at a book sale I think and I always wanted to read it because it looked so interesting. It’s about a girl named Fern who was swapped at birth. She finds out when her real father and brother show up and take her with them for the summer. This books promises mystery, intrigue, fairies, shape shifting, and a whole lot of strange fun!

I could never say enough good things about Alice Hoffman. Her books are written for adults but I think  high schoolers would enjoy her books. Alice Hoffman has a lyrical way of writing that just pulls you in no matter what the story is about. I have slowly been reading all of her books. I read Skylight Confessions, and while it wasn’t my favorite it was interesting story. My review on Goodreads is really short but simply put this is a story of a family and their choices and the consequences of their choices. I have not read The Third Angel but I am excited to!

Synopsis Courtesy of Goodreads:

Now, in The Third Angel, Hoffman weaves a magical and stunningly original story that charts the lives of three women in love with the wrong men: Headstrong Madeleine Heller finds herself hopelessly attracted to her sister’s fiancé. Frieda Lewis, a doctor’s daughter and a runaway, becomes the muse of an ill-fated rock star. And beautiful Bryn Evans is set to marry an Englishman while secretly obsessed with her ex-husband. At the heart of the novel is Lucy Green, who blames herself for a tragic accident she witnessed at the age of twelve, and who spends four decades searching for the Third Angel–the angel on earth who will renew her faith.

What books have you been stacking your shelves with?

7 thoughts on “Reading Response: Stacking the Shelves

  1. I was so excited about Mrs. Peregrine’s new movie! I haven’t even managed to cross that one off my TBR list but I am excited. And now I have a deadline cause I’ve gotta read it before the movie comes out….Anyway, beautiful stack of books you have there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

