Where do I find new books? #YaLit

goodreads.png

As a kid I just used to use the library or my parent’s library. I got a Goodreads account when I was in the eighth grade but I didn’t really start using it until I was in high school. Even then I didn’t start really utilizing all the features until I was a Freshman in college. I started keeping a yearly goal in 2011 but I didn’t really start writing book reviews until I was a senior in high school. I didn’t start looking for new books until I was in college. I really like Goodreads because I love reading other people’s book reviews. Some people can be brutally honest and I appreciate that. If we cannot be honest with our opinions about books then we cannot be honest about anything. I also get letters from authors that I wrote reviews for about new books that are coming out. You can create different bookshelves to organize your books and you can add owned books. I haven’t utilized that feature because it’s too complicated for me and I have my own system but for those looking for something like this it is a great tool. The one thing I don’t like about Goodreads and maybe it’s just that I haven’t found it yet but I cannot tell what age range the books are for. The genre is listed so there is a way to tell if it is middle grade, YA, Adult but even then is it for 8-12 yr. olds, 13-15 yr. olds?

I also use Amazon to look for books but honestly I mostly use to buy books. I also buy books on thrift books which is the best website for buying used books. Free shipping on orders over $10 and for every $50 you spend you get a coupon. You don’t have to spend $50 all at once you can build upon that over time. It’s really a terrible website for someone like me who has a hard time resisting free shipping and coupons. Barnes and Noble is another website I look at but again mostly for shopping. Goodreads is about the only site that I go to look for new books to read or the local library.

I now follow Goodreads, Thriftbooks and Book Riot on Facebook and Twitter. Book Riot is a great site to follow because they have fun interesting articles about books and they send out a newsletter about YA books. I follow several authors on Twitter and I read the blog YA Love. I’m looking for more blogs to follow about YA literature so any suggestions are welcome.

Leave a Reply

