Creating a classroom with a personalized learning approach #DigLit

personalized-learning-guide-fi.jpgPhoto CC of teachthought.com

 

While I was doing research for this week’s post I came across an article written by a former teacher of mine. Creating a Culture of Leaner Autonomy by Brian Anton. Mr. Anton was my sophomore history teacher and it is interesting to see how far he has come. It is also crazy to think how small the world really is and how social media can bring people together. I haven’t seen Mr. Anton in 4 years, but I just happened to find an article written by him while doing some research. This is the link to Mr. Anton’s Student Driven Social Studies Classroom webpage. This is the link to his profile on twitter, Mr. Anton’s Twitter Profile.

 

Mr. Anton mentioned in his article the students that just came to class and did the work to pass and I was one of those students though I am loathe to admit it. I have always considered myself a good student who worked for my grades but that is not entirely honest. Most of the time I did the work for the grade not for myself. Which is why I am interested in personalized learning and flipped classrooms.

I strongly disliked lecture classes where I would take notes, take a test and move on because I never did learn anything. There was no focus on what I was interested in learning, how I was interested in learning the material and how I wanted to present my findings. Education has lost the ideal that learning should be about the student and not about the content. As of late educators have become so focused on scores and numbers not the student and making sure students are actually learning the content instead of just doing enough to get a good grade. In her book Book Love by Peggy Kittle, Peggy gives countless examples of students who never actually read the assigned book instead they used spark notes, class discussions, or summaries on the internet. What happened to students wanting to learn for leaning’s sake? When did school become about tests, scores, and doing just enough for a good grade?

Personalized vs. differentiated vs. individualized learning by Dale Basye is another great article that explains personalized learning and then how to bring together all three different approaches. When kids take responsibility for their learning they are more excited to learn and more willing to learn. Kids will most likely doze off or pull out their phones if I stand in front of the class and lecture on symbolism in To Kill A Mockingbird. If I ask them to choose a novel instead and pick a literary element to focus on I guarantee that more students will be excited to study and learn. There will always be a need for teachers because students don’t know everything but I don’t think student learning should be the teacher’s responsibility alone. When I choose to learn something, such as my ILP (Independent Learning Project) I put time and effort into it because I chose the subject and it is something I want to learn about. I have autonomy over my learning and that makes it way more enjoyable than if my teacher had assigned us a topic to learn about.

Students need that autonomy and we as educators should give it to them.

These are some personalized learning managers I followed on Twitter.

Jin-Soo Huh twitter profile-Jin Soo Huh is the personalized learning manager for Alpha Schools.

Stephen Pham Twitter Profile– Stephen Pham is also a manager of personalized learning in San Francisco, California.

screen-shot-2013-11-24-at-10-29-50-am.png

10 thoughts on “Creating a classroom with a personalized learning approach #DigLit

  1. I think that yes, it was so coincidental that you read your old teacher’s article! How funny! Did you tell him? I really agree with you and I like the way that you put it that yes, when we chose our Independent Learning Projects ourselves, we really enjoyed it more than we would if somebody had flat out told us to focus on a specific subject. I think that students young and old should get to choose their own as well. I loved your post! 🙂

    Like

  2. I think it’s so neat that you found something written by your former teacher. I SO enjoy it when my past students find me… even students I had in 1st grade WAY back in the day (who are now in college). If he sees your tweet, I’m certain he’ll be delighted that you made contact. I, too, sometimes did the bare minimum to get through K-12. It was so easy to make the grade and be done with each class with little investment. Some of my undergraduate work was the same way. It wasn’t until my three graduate programs (where you choose your precise path without any basic “general ed” requirements) that I was so fully invested and excited that I wanted to give it my full attention. Sure, there were still courses that were difficult and not so enjoyable (like Catalog and Classification–boy was that tough), but at least I could see WHY it was important and how it fit, precisely, into my professional goals. Good thoughts, here.

    Like

  3. This is awesome, I think it is great that you found something like this. It is very true in my eyes. I think this picture you have above shows exactly how to learn something and retain the information as well. This makes me curious if my former teachers have a twitter and what educational stuff they are posting. My former teachers were all amazing, and they were top notch. I can’t say that one of my teachers wasn’t a good one. Our school ended up becoming a Blue Ribbon School, because of how good our test scores were and teachers. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

