Freedom Writers #DigLit

9 thoughts on “Freedom Writers #DigLit

  1. I like that you admit you want to go off on those rabbit trails, those teachers are the ones that have their students continue to show up and it makes them wonder what will be the topic of the rabbit trail today?!

    Like

  2. I love what you said about building a relationship with your students. As children, we build our personalities, views, and lives around those who we spend the most time around. Unsurprisingly (because we typically don’t hang out with our parents 6-8 hours everyday) our teachers are the biggest and most important figures in our lives because of the amount of time we spend with them. Naturally, because of this, it’s important to build a good relationship with your class.

    Like

  3. Those relationships are so very important. I attended my students birthday parties, went to gymnastics practice, hockey games, etc. It means so much to them! I also had parents write me a letter at the start of the year–they could share anything and everything about their child. I came across some of these letters not too long ago and they were so touching. Also, I have to say that I’ve grown and changed pretty dramatically between my 20s and 40s. My personality traits are still basically what I was born with, but my curiosities and interests have exploded as I’ve faced new travels and new life experiences. I wonder if the “me” from 20 years ago would even recognize the “me” of today. lol Great post!

    Like

    1. One of my education professors told my class that when she worked in Arizona she got invited to QuinceaƱeras for former students and I thought that was the coolest thing. She had built such a strong relationship with her students that years later they were still inviting her to important events in their lives.

      Like

  4. I absolutely LOVE the story of the freedom writers! I can watch the movie all of the time. It brought so many emotions out and the best part was the relationship that the teacher formed with her students! Such an inspiring story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

