The Do’s and Don’ts of Powerpoint #Diglitclass

According to the American Library Association Digital Literacy is defined as “the ability to use information and communication technologies to find, evaluate, create, and communicate information, requiring both cognitive and technical skills.”

I was perusing a web article What Digital Literacy Looks Like in a Classroom by Brianna Crowley long time educator and she had inserted this link for a hilarious video: Life After Death by Powerpoint . It’s funny but it is also sobering in that when I was in high school I saw a lot of the “don’ts” on powerpoint presentations and I also saw them when I was a freshman in college. One would naturally think by the time a person was a freshman in college they would understood the do’s and don’ts of Powerpoint but this is simply not the case. Is it the fault of the teacher for not teaching digital literacy to their students or is it the fault of the student for not listening when the teacher gave a lesson on the do’s and don’ts?

As our country becomes more technologically driven so do our classrooms. I am a future educator so I am a little focused on the classroom right now but it really isn’t just our classrooms that are technologically  driven. Businesses, colleges, churches, even airports are scrambling to stay up to date with the latest technology or improve upon their current technology. As technology continually changes it is important to remain digitally literate in order to survive. However, I do not believe technology is the only tool in a teacher or anyone’s belt. I survived my high school sophomore English class without any technology, and it did not affect my learning at all. While I do think it is important to be digitally literate in whatever field one works in, I don’t think we should be become digitally dependent.

20110205_socialens_literacy_fluency

I must admit I am not a huge technology person, and that I just got a twitter a few days ago, so I might be a little biased when it comes to technology. There is just so much new technology out there that I am a little overwhelmed by it all. I took a technology class and am currently taking another one ,and some of the new technology that I learned to use I did not even know existed. I’d like to learn new ways of doing things, because everybody learns a different way, and if I can find fun engaging ways to teach my future students I am all for it. In order for me and whoever is reading this to become digitally fluent we need to spend more time learning new technology and how to use it. Not everyone has the time or the access, but we should spare the time to learn the technology we do have, because we live and work in a society where technology and digital literacy/fluency is at the top of everyone’s priority list.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Do’s and Don’ts of Powerpoint #Diglitclass

  1. Your point about not encouraging digital dependency is interesting. While I agree that we need to be able to function in the world in the event of crises such as power failures that would take away our technology, I don’t believe in limiting technology from children in an effort to stop that dependency. Because the business and communication worlds are already so far into technology, we would only be hindering children that we take the iPads and computers away from. Digital literacy is becoming more and more important as time goes on.

    Like

    1. What I am trying to say is not limiting technology but simply not letting our kids use it all the time and as their only resource in the classroom. When I was a student in elementary school we were encouraged to use all resources not just the internet and now when I go into the classroom computers are all that kids are using. I am not saying technology is bad and not let kids use it, I think kids should be encouraged to use technology and stay up to date but I also think we shouldn’t encourage kids to be glued to their iPads or their computers. There is more to life than technology.

      Like

  2. What was once considered an additional “tool,” is now more like the primary avenue of expression–like the new pen. Everything from writing to listening to video-recording to artwork to musical creation is all right at the touch of the finger. When I first started teaching, we only had 1 or 2 computers per classroom and they could not yet replace most of our other tools. By 2003 we had a number of NEW computers (with every up-to-date tool available) in every classroom, as well as a couple large computer labs. So my 1st grade students were building websites, creating beautiful artwork, and expressing their learning in very different ways than what I did back when I was in school. ALL classroom teachers were required to go through extensive technology training well above our university training and all my lesson plans, newsletters, photos of our weekly activities, etc. were available online. And eventually, our district began requiring teacher websites to provide transparency between parents and schools. Now teachers are daily blogging, tweeting, Facebooking, vlogging, etc. It has been a whirlwind of change with all the exchange of ideas and attempting to get learners ready for what life will be like outside of school! My main concern with modern technology is where it is sometimes replacing social interaction. I’m happy to have the ability to communicate with all our long-distance family, to drop quick notes to my local friends, and to teach online classes to students not living in our area. Yet it’s very important to be aware of the fact that, if taken too far, it is sometimes REPLACING in-person human interaction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

