Traveling with the Doctor and Ms. Frizzle #Diglit Class

Awhile back I came across a post on Pinterest that was comparing the Doctor and Ms. Frizzle. There are some definite similarities: time traveling transportation devices, companions, crazy wild adventures, and both shows were started to educate children. I was blessed to be educated by Ms. Frizzle and her third grade class on everything from how cakes bake to the solar system thanks to my parents who recorded every episode of The Magic School Bus onto VHS tapes.

xmoltarx.jpgPhoto CC by xmoltarx

Magic School Bus was one of my earliest recollections of education other than my amazing mother. When my family lived in North Midwest in a very cold snowy state my parents decided to send my eldest brother to a little country school. I don’t wish to say anything bad about rural schools, but this particular school was just not qualified and staffed well enough for a proper education. When my brother finished up first grade my parents decided it would be better to homeschool me and my siblings. My mom took on this endeavor and became teacher to me and my siblings through the 6th grade. My mom didn’t want to try and keep teaching us through high school so when 7th grade rolled around we were shipped off to the public school (we had moved by this time to “misery”).

dear-mom-i-love-you-quote-1

My mom gave me a solid foundation by using curriculum that challenged (ABekka) and engaged me as a student. She helped shape me into the learner I am today because she fostered a love of reading in me by not limiting me to grade-level books. When I was in first grade I was reading third-grade level books. I remember my parents being amazed that I was such a proficient reader but instead of discouraging it they encouraged it.

Herry Lawford Photo CC by Herry Lawford

“Where the Wild Things Are” was just one of the many hundreds of books that composed my own personal library. My earliest memories of reading were not of me actually reading but pretending to read by making up my own stories while holding a book. Books have and always will be my greatest teachers.

Ben Sutherland Photo CC by Ben Sutherland

Doctor Who, while being one of my favorite TV shows and one of the earliest adult shows I can remember watching is really a symbol of all TV shows and movies I watched as a child. While television is discouraged in some households and for good reasons, it was not so in my house. A lot can be learned from TV shows such as ZOOM, Zaboomafu, TMNT, and the Price is Right. I remember staying up late on Sunday nights to watch Doctor Who and being extra quiet so my parents wouldn’t know.

Sergio Photo CC by Sergio

I saved the best for last because without my mom forcing me to play the piano and without the privilege of watching Star Wars as a kid I would have never learned to appreciate good music or become the huge Geek I am today. I never did become very good at the piano but because of that music background I became confident in my singing ability and joined choir in high school and college. Star Wars taught me many things, such as there is no such thing as trying, but more importantly that it is ok to be a Geek. All five of these images represent my learning process but they also represent who I became.

4 thoughts on “Traveling with the Doctor and Ms. Frizzle #Diglit Class

  1. The Magic School Bus is one of my favorite learning memories from my childhood. I think it goes to show how much digital literacy effected our education without us even knowing. Bill Nye the Science Guy was also one of my favorites. I thought that digital literacy in primary school was a new concept that would really only effect younger generations, but after reading your post I realize how it also effected us!
    Thanks you the new knowledge!

    Like

  2. I am not familiar with Dr. Who but Mrs. Frizzle and I go way back, I love that show, and I feel like there were a lot of educational shows on television when I was a child, today I am not sure I can say that with confidence. I think it is fascinating that kids that were home schooled grow up wanting to educate. Did you enjoy public school when you got there? This was a fun story to read.

    Like

  3. It’s great that your family was able to jump in and give you such a solid foundation. Research tells us that smaller student-to-teacher ratio as well as parental involvement make ALL the difference in the learner. You had BOTH of these in your upbringing and it will definitely impact your ability to reach other children. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

